California Police to Begin Charging 5-Year Olds with Misdemeanors

babybar

Kristan T. Harris | The Rundown Live

In Carson City, California an ordinance was just passed that will result in kindergartners getting ticketed for bullying.

Kindergartners could be issued with criminal misdemeanors.

The ordinance is directed at anyone, including another youth who causes young people from kindergarten to age 18 to feel terrorized, harassed or threatened with a legitimate purpose.

The ordinance doesn’t spell out what every legitimate purpose might be, but it covers physical intimidation, like hitting and pushing, psychological bullying, like calling people names,  social bullying like, rumor spreading and cyber-bullying like calling someone fat on Facebook.

All things listed above, including freedom of speech, will be crimes whether they’re committed at school, or a walk home, wherever you go.

This is a very serious issue that we face not only in the state of California but throughout the United States,” said Councilman Mike Gipson, who introduced the ordinance and is spearheading a campaign to make Carson “bully-free.

We’re going to protect not only to get that has bothered in school but when you leave school and go home we’re going to protect you as a city“First-time offenders could be ticketed and fined $100. A second ticket would cost $200, and a third-time offense could bring a criminal misdemeanor charge.Carson Mayor Jim Dear told Reuters that he acknowledges the measure, which is based on a similar ordinance in Monona, Wis., could be challenged in court. Still, he said he supports the proposal.

We’re not talking about putting a 5-year-old in jail, we’re talking about intervening in both the bully’s life, who is a person who is hurting too, and the victim’s life,” Dear said.

Councilwoman Lula Davis-Holmes supported the anti-bullying ordinance after the council agreed to reduce the severity of the penalty for the first and second violations by children.

I’m a mother, and I think I’m in favor of this but I would not want to go to court for a 5- or 10-year-old and say: ‘You’re charged with a misdemeanor,’ ” Davis-Holmes said. “We’re creating another problem here by saying it’s a misdemeanor.”

Comments

comments


6 Comments

  1. wendy May 14, 2014 8:02 pm  Reply

    Picking on someone alot smaller and younger…SHAME ON YOU!! DO YOU FEEL BIG?

  2. genesis667 May 15, 2014 10:12 am  Reply

    Clearly the people in California are NUTS…WHACKOS, INSANE!

  3. Charles Taylor May 30, 2014 1:16 pm  Reply

    You people who back this ordinance are ignorant and you have your collective heads so far up your asses you can’t see the light of day.

    For crying out loud….a five-year-old? What in the hell has happened to this country? I don’t even recognize it anymore. It’s been over taken by progressive ideology and we are no longer a free nation.

Leave a Reply